top of page

The Often Misrepresented B in LGBT by Jose

This is an article sharing my experiences and views as a bisexual member of the LGBT Community.



I am not writing with the intent to educate the readers on the issues that we as a community are facing, but instead to shed a little light on the situation from my own point of view. In these turbulent times, it is hard to see eye to eye with those that have struggled through discrimination in whichever shape or form, but if, after reading this, you are able to feel a little more sympathy for even one of your queer peers, then I consider the article a success.



I am bisexual. Half straight, half gay - but not really. I think throughout my life I’ve felt part of a social grey area, always able to fit in but never really a part of anything. I’ve never been to a Pride Parade, never shot down a bigot for their hidebound beliefs, but most importantly I’ve never really had to struggle as a result of my sexuality. Maybe after reading that you’re wondering, ‘so what does this guy have to teach me that I don’t already know?’ And the answer to that question... well, you will just have to read on and find out yourself. 


To an outsider, I would be considered a straight cis-gendered male. I have a girlfriend, will probably marry a woman, will probably end up having kids the “normal” way. But what separates me, a bisexual, from a straight cis-gendered ally is that they have the privilege of never having to live in fear that their parents or family or friends won't accept them just because of who they find attractive. They would never have to wonder whether there was something wrong in their heads, or that they were unnatural.



As the only male child in my family, I have the burden of carrying on my family name (which is a big deal for my Filipino mum and Colombian dad) and the thought that they might never get to hold a grandchild that shared their surname was hard to swallow for my traditional parents.


But, I am lucky. I have friends that support me, a family that accepts me and thick enough skin to not be hurt by ignorant and bigoted retorts online. My positive experience growing up as a member of the LGBTQ+ community is a result of decades of struggle from my predecessors.


But that does not mean the fight is over.

Same-sex marriage is legal in only 29 of almost 200 countries worldwide. In some countries, homosexual relations is punishable by death. 

I’m not here to explain every single letter in the LGBTQ+ acronym, nor am I here to show you the correct way to ask a trans peer how they’d like to be addressed; 3 or 4 scrolls through #pride on any social media platform will get you a thread explaining that way better than I ever could. The real question I pose to you is this: If I gave you the resources, the accounts to follow, the books to read to educate yourself on the issues that the LGBTQ+ community are facing and how to help, would you take some responsibility and take action?


If your answer was no, then what would it take? 


Thanks to TikTok and other social media platforms, it is easier now than it has ever been to find someone to inspire a change within you, somebody that holds the same interest, the same belief system and who is part of the same community. What a lot of creators such as, @danaistrans @toucansocks @bidaddies, helped me learn about embracing my sexuality and identity, and advice I’d like to give to anyone struggling with accepting who they are is this: own who you are.


It is okay to be uncertain. Being an impressionable young person in such an uncertain world like today, it would be strange for your own identity, and your perception of it, to not constantly change and evolve. 


My final message to all readers is this: Be kind. To yourself and to the people around you, queer or not. It can be hard to get a grasp of what is right and what you should stand up for, but a willingness to learn and make a change is the first step to progress towards a better future.



Today's feature writer is Jose! His piece has opened my eyes and educated myself more on the LGBTQ+ community. It has made me realise that no community is perfect however, it is through unity and conscious choice to educate oneself than any division within and against other communities can be destabilised. Jose encourages you all to follow @allmindsmatterproject on Instagram as they focus on addressing mental health in our generation.


Join Jose @platform_blog on insta to interact with him!





Have a story to share? DM me on Instagram @platform_blog or comment down below to get in touch.

Comments


bottom of page