top of page

Platform Interviews: Kande Collection

At just 21, Aminat Akande is an accomplished self-taught fashion designer, seamstress and founder of Kande Collection. With her work already featured at UKC ACS Black History Month Fashion Show and the EASOC Kelele Fashion Show.



R: Hello, I hope all is well. What inspired you to start your business and what was the foundation you created to start it up?


KC: Hello! Yes, I’m great thanks hope you are too. I would say my inspiration was based on my surroundings and upbringing.


Being raised in an African household (of Nigerian descent to be precise) we would regularly attend family functions, birthday parties, weddings, thanksgivings you name it, where we would dress up in the finest African garments that would be sewn by a tailor. I remember always being the one my mum called upon out of her four children to help design what the family would wear. Back then I never thought of this as anything other than something that I found creative and enjoyable.


A problem that I noticed was that for my siblings, as well as many youngsters attending these events in our community, the garments that we would invest much money into having tailored would end up making an appearance once, and then get stored away in our closets. It made me start to wonder if there was some sort of disconnect with the younger age bracket and their appreciation of African clothing and prints - which were truly beautiful but did not get the appreciation I felt it deserved.


As for my foundation, about three years ago, I leveraged my spare time to teach myself how to sew with the help of various resources, as I didn’t get the opportunity to learn at school or anything. I learned a lot of things quite quickly which came as a surprise, and I found it very enjoyable. Before I knew it, I started making clothes for family and friends and they really appreciated it, and more and more people were inquiring. I then started to think that I could turn this into something, so over the years I have been refining and researching my brand; in which Kande Collection was born.


So through starting KANDE COLLECTION, I hope to create a space for reviving African fashion in a modern way; by fusing designs with eccentric African prints and fabrics.



R: That is an incredible start-up, you should be really proud of what you have created and in how you are aiding in representing your culture. Where did the brand name KANDE COLLECTION originate from?


KC: Thank you very much!


So, funnily enough, I’ve had some tough times trying to figure out a name for my brand. Back when I first started sewing garments people actually knew me as “FittedByA”. I knew deep down that it didn’t reflect what I wanted to establish at the time, but it did the job for that period. When it came to the point where I had continued researching and refining my brand I really had to take myself back to the premise of why I started in the first place; which was to of course to really create a space for celebration in African Fashion.


This was something personal to me, as it is a part of my identity, so I wanted a name that would carry a part of my heritage and culture. My surname (which originates from Nigeria) is Akande, so I thought of ways to create a spin on that and so I truncated it to ‘Kande’ because I felt it was quite strong and distinctive. Then I decided to add the collection aspect to describe its ability to offer a range of designs.



R: I definitely agree, coming up with a brand name was something I struggled with too, I have a page filled with really random names for Platform. I think it's great that the brand name directly comes from your name, it adds to the representation of your culture and yourself, making YOU the brand. What are the core values of your business and how do both the company and yourself carry them out?


KC: I would say that the main core Values for KANDE COLLECTION are the following:


1) Transparency and honesty: With the way we interact with consumers and the purchases they make with us. We wouldn’t want our customers to feel as though they are being misled.


2) Ethical: We have a commitment to always source our fabrics and labour in an ethical manner. We love to build trusting and deep relationships with our suppliers across the globe, and we also recognise that our investments are to potentially go to cater for the next family or household and that needs to be sufficient.


3) Inclusivity: Because we are a black-owned brand celebrating African culture, doesn’t exempt people who aren’t of black heritage from shopping or partnering with us.


4) Being driven and daring: the brand also reflects as a testimony to hopefully inspire people to be driven and daring and driven in the things that they wish to achieve, that they can truly manifest their crazy dreams into a reality.


I’d say core values are a big thing for me. And the beauty of being able to essentially start up a brand is that it’s almost an extension of yourself, so my values in life are those in which I would carry to be valued within my business also.



R: Those are great values to carry and I'm sure are going to encourage the success of KANDE COLLECTION. Where do you see this business five years from now?


KC: Thank you! In five years time from now, I would be thrilled to see KANDE COLLECTION continuing to thrive, and gaining recognition and customers globally. I really aim to push the brand to hopefully reach a standard where some of the designs could make an entry into the luxury/high-end segments of fashion in the western world, and hopefully noted against some of the big names in the industry.



R: That is a great goal and I definitely see that happening for you! Who is someone in your community and industry that inspires you?


KC: Ooh that is a great question; I would definitely say that my Mum is someone who definitely inspires me! She is extremely hard working and business savvy, having run multiple businesses in the UK after moving here from Nigeria. I think she has definitely passed on some of her business acumens to me! But she also encourages me daily through her strive and work ethic, and she is also very supportive and helped me really kick start my foundation in Fashion.


Within the industry, I’ve been inspired by the works of Ozwald Boateng - a High-End Ghanaian Fashion designer, Daniel Fletcher, coupled with various other brands in general that are even on the rise. Anything that catches my eye generally I become inspired by.


Pictured above: Designer Ozwald Boateng


R: That is amazing to hear, parents are our first teachers and its great to see that your mum is has been a great support! So far, what has been your favourite memory since starting your business?


KC: Wow honestly there has been so many! But I would definitely refer to a fashion show I was invited to take part in during my time studying at university.


I was super excited because I didn’t feel that anyone had even noticed my work so I agreed to take part. I had a few hiccups in preparing for the show as resources that I had needed to sew some of the designs got lost in transit and others were delayed, basically leaving me unprepared with no designs a week before the show!


I could have easily given up and said that I could no longer partake in the show because of all these issues but I chose not to let that be an issue. So instead I managed to fish around for some old materials at home quickly, and spent the week preparing 10 garments from scratch - it was definitely a TASK.

In the end, the designs came out so much better than I expected and the response from people watching at the show was incredible.


I was so encouraged by how something that could have seemed “disastrous to some, worked out to be extremely beautiful” and it was ultimately a lesson to me to keep pushing even when the situation may look difficult. It also boosted recognition for the brand and had many inquiries thereafter!



R: That is incredible! Your dedication and resilience are amazing and I hope that future entrepreneurs are inspired by this. What advice would you give to someone wanting to start their own business?


KC: Thank you! I really hope so too.


To those who are entrepreneurs or to those who are even thinking about their passion or entrepreneurship, I would say to pay attention to the things that make you tick or the things you have a natural flair for because those things can be cultivated into building a business or a brand in your own unique way.


I would also encourage aspiring entrepreneurs to remain focused on what they want to do; to keep researching and refining if you need to until you have clarity and you are ready to run with your idea.


Equally, if it’s fear that is holding you back, be daring and publish that thing you’ve been working on behind closed doors. It's easy to be very critical of your work but I promise there are people out there that will appreciate it!

And finally, to always remember that you must be your biggest cheerleader in business. Don’t be fooled by comparison in followers or popularity, remain focused on building your craft and making quality content, and promoting it. Eventually, your brand/ service/product will get the traction it deserves for your labour.


Pictured above: Founder Aminat Akande


R: That is great advice I hope everyone reading this takes it on. Finally, where can they find and purchase from KANDE COLLECTION?


KC: Thank you!


People can shop online at www.kandecollection.com for our current designs that we are constantly working on expanding.


For enquiries people may also contact info@kandecollection.com


Have a story to share? DM me on insta @platform_blog or comment down below to get in touch.

Comments


bottom of page