top of page

The Art of Activism by Nida

Editor's Note: Hey Platform. readers! Thank you for your patience after I took a week break from posting. I'm super excited for the next monthly cycle of writers and for you to discover and be educated on different perspectives and stories. We're starting off August's cycle with feature writer Nida Rafiq!


All my life I had an innate passion and drive for activism and helping those who are disadvantaged in any way – however, I was not sure of how to do this.



Living in a disadvantaged area in Newham, I was always hearing of stories of young vulnerable children who had their life taken away – and the lack of anger from those in power in society angered me to the point in which I hoped my voice would help the disadvantaged communities. So, I began @nidagoodread with the aim to educate others about these issues. As well as the reluctance from superiors to do anything about the issue, there was and is a huge amount of ignorance – shown in the lack of education on issues that affect the Black community. 

This lack of education stems from many things including an ethnocentric curriculum; lack of relevant literature; the way in which education brainwashes one to stray away from revolutionary behaviour etc. So, to be able to use my voice and engage in the activism of such sort makes me express my passion and drive to help others to the best of my ability.

Artwork from @artbyrobel on Insta


The people that drive my passion and inspire me are the soon to be successful generation of Black youths who are able to work hard to achieve the best life circumstances, as well as be connected with an array of supportive networks that ensure self-preservation and self-care. A generation that can battle the most traumatic events but also feel comfortable in engaging in mental health discourse with the eradication of its stigma. Me being able to educate others on topics that are rarely discussed ensures the best for the Black youth, in that people who would work to decrease their life chances both intentionally and unintentionally are now educated – after a prolonged period of time where education of Black centred issues is properly taught to the ignorant. 



People need to understand activism can take many forms. From writing to speaking with your white colleagues to protesting on the streets – small or big acts of activism can change the mindset of the other and contribute to revolutionary social change. True activism takes place when one uses love and passion to ensure the best for others. 

It is important to note that activism is a long and strenuous process – as it has been said many times, it is not something that happens overnight. One must take breaks, recharge, and ensure that self-care is always sought. It does not make one ‘weak’ to want to do so – we all need to take breaks in this fight for activism, but we always come back with greater power. 


To now be able to speak about activism with the relief that I have finally found a way to express this has been life-changing for me. I am now able to engage in discourses in a way that I was never exposed to before. It has helped me reveal my love for writing articles and voicing those voiceless.


This for me is the art of activism and I hope this continues for many years to come.


Today's feature writer is Nida! I reached out to Nida on Instagram @nidagoodread as it was amazing to see someone else fighting for social justice through the power of writing. She writes with purpose and I love her passion to educate the privileged, including myself, so we can do better and help create equal opportunities for everyone. She is a team member of a youth-led organisation @yourlifemorelife based in Newham, Stratford that works to support and empower our young people to heal, be successful and lead change.


Join her @platform_blog for a Q&A!


Have a story to share? DM me on Instagram @platform_blog or comment down below to get in touch.

Comments


bottom of page