top of page

LIFE OF A UNIVERSITY STUDENT IN LOCKDOWN



Wake up, workout (most days), Netflix, eat , sleep, repeat.


It's a cycle of living the same day over and over and over again. Deja vu every single everyday.


Although this routine does seem quite mundane, I am appreciating the chance to relax, which as a university student isn't a luxury I often get.


As my university is still open (meaning exams are still happening *sigh*) I still had deadlines to meet and online lectures and seminars to attend in pjs. But since completing my deadlines two days ago, I took the first day of pure relaxation that I just don't seem to indulge in at uni. From hair masks, new bedsheets, to just binging Netflix. Self-care post deadlines and during this lockdown was something I seriously needed, and something we should all do during this rather stressful time.


However, as a university student there is a lot going on in my head. I miss all my friends, the events that had to be cancelled and the intimacy of lectures and seminars. The independence and freedom of living on campus was too blessed. I do feel that a large part of my university experience has been robbed due to the virus.


It also doesn't help that the government have not addressed university students directly. Which is frustrating since we are paying for education and therefore have this long-term debt to pay post-education.


Besides these issues, lockdown has allowed me to be self-reflective.


It has given me the opportunity to be with my family, refine my culinary skills and rebuild my relationship with God. Through this self-reflection I have been blessed with the chance to think about my future. What I am passionate about and how I can turn that passion into a future long-term career.


Bringing me here.


So to all my fellow students reading this during lockdown, my advice is to 1. relax and 2. use this time to experiment with your passions and start to put these dreams into action.


Manifest what you want and the universe will hear you.

Comments


bottom of page